Page BannerNews

Transition statement for ISO/IEC 20000 Part 1:2005 to 2011 for the APMG Certification Scheme

Purpose and duration

The Information technology - Service Management - Part 1: Service management system requirements ISO/IEC 20000 Part 1 2005 has recently been updated to ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011.

The revised Part 1 document (ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011) will be introduced to the Scheme from the 1st June 2011.

Conducting of audits, certifications and re-certifications using the existing Part 1 document, ISO/IEC 20000-1:2005, will cease 24 months from the introduction of the new version ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011. (i.e. cease by 01 June 2013).

Transition for RCBs

Registered Certification Bodies (RCBs) are organizations who are accredited by APMG to operate a certification scheme for organization's compliance to ISO/IEC20000.

The process for RCB transition is as follows:

1. Application to APMG for ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011 version
2. Gap analysis of 2005 to 2011 version
3. Transition plan for certified organizations, implementation and timescales
4. Auditor training plan with timescales
5. APMG review of information from RCBs, grant of accreditation and certificate issue.

Transition for Certified Organizations

The revised Part 1 document (ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011) will be introduced to the Scheme from the 1st June 2011.

Certified organizations are certified by Registered Certification Bodies (RCBs), such as BSI, LRQA, DNV, BVQI etc to ISO/IEC20000 for their organization's ability to effectively deliver manage services to meet the business and customer requirements. Specific arrangements regarding transition for your organization should be made to the RCB who issued your certificate.

For certified organizations who have already been certified within the Scheme before the 1st June 2011:

Audits and re-certifications of already certified organizations will still be permitted using Part 1 (ISO/IEC 20000-1:2005) for a 24 month period to allow organizations the time to adapt to meet the new requirements. After 01 June 2013, only audits and re-certifications using the ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011 will be accepted.

For new applications to become ISO20000 certified organizations received after the 1st June 2011:

Audits and certifications of newly certified organizations will be permitted using ISO/IEC 20000-1:2005 until 01 June 2012. After 01 June 2012, only audits and certifications using ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011 will be accepted.


If you require any further information or clarification about this statement, please email:

Or contact Anne-Marie Preston at:
The APM Group Limited
Sword House
Totteridge Road
High Wycombe
HP13 6DG
United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0) 1494 452 450
Fax: +44 (0) 1494 459 559

© Copyright 2013 APM Group. All rights reserved | APM Group, Sword House, Totteridge Road, High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK, HP13 6DG